Funding for Severe Flooding

Federal Funding Now Available to Kentuckians Most Impacted by Severe Flooding

Kentuckians in Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Johnson, Lee, Magoffin, Martin and Powell counties can now receive federal funding to help recover from the severe storms, flooding and mudslides that occurred Feb. 27 to March 14, 2021, after President Joe Biden granted Kentucky a Major Disaster Declaration on Friday.

Assistance includes grants for temporary housing, home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other disaster-related needs.

Private, nonprofit organizations that provided emergency work as well as repair and replacements of damaged facilities may be eligible for cost sharing in the following counties: Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Cumberland, Elliott, Floyd, Franklin, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Magoffin, Marion, Martin, Mason, Morgan, Ohio, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle and Wolf.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties should:

  • Register for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
    • Online:
    • By phone: 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.
  • Collect necessary documentation 
    • Have your Social Security number, insurance information, damage information, bank information and contact information ready when applying for assistance.

You should register with FEMA even if you have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate​ insurance payments, but if you are under-insured, you may receive help after your insurance claim is settled.​​

Stay Connected:

© Kentucky Housing Corporation
For more information, please contact:

Kentucky Housing Corporation
1231 Louisville Road, Frankfort, KY 40601
502-564-7630; 800-633-8896 (KY only); TTY 711
Equal Housing Provider